UEFA announces changes to Nations League format

There will also be a new format for qualifying for the European and World Championships

UEFA announced changes to the format League of Nations.

The tournament will be expanded with a new play-off round in March, thus creating a sequence between the group phase that ended in November and the final in June.

Division A group winners and runners-up will play in the quarter-finals home and away, with the winners of these matches qualifying for the Final Four.

Teams that finish third in Division A groups and third in Division B will play promotion/relegation play-offs against teams that finish second in Division B groups and second in Division C groups respectively. The round will be a two-legged duel between the teams.

Also, the changes affected European qualification to Euro or world championship. Teams will now be divided into 12 groups of four and five teams.

The winners of the European qualifiers groups will receive a direct ticket to the European Championship or the World Cup, while the runners-up will qualify directly or take part in the play-off matches (together with the Nations League teams for the Euro qualifiers).

The Ukrainian national team finished second in Group 1 of the Nations League and remained in Division B in 2022. The Blue-Yellows will play in Group C against Italy, England, North Macedonia and Malta in the Euro 2024 qualifiers following a recent draw.

Source: Sportarena

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.