South Africa beat New Zealand to win the Rugby World Cup for a record fourth time

Springboks retain title

South Africa national team became the winner Rugby World Cup 2023. The Springboks won the final New Zealand — 12:11.

South Africa won the first half 12-6. Handre Pollard scored all 12 points for the Springboks.

After the break, the All Blacks narrowed the gap to a minimum and could even have taken the lead, but Richie Mo’Unga (conversion) and Beauden Barrett (free-kick) were not accurate.

South Africa defended its championship title won in 2019. In total, the Springboks became World Cup winners for the fourth time in history (1995, 2007, 2019, 2023). Note that South Africa has never lost in the World Cup final.

The All Blacks lost the final for the second time in history. New Zealand has three World Cup victories (1987, 2011, 2015).

Let us remind you that the third place in the 2023 World Cup was taken by the England team, beating Argentina (26:23). The tournament took place in France from September 8 to October 28.

  • Rugby. World Cup 2023. The final

New Zealand – South Africa — 11:12 (6:12)

Source: Sportarena

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.