Auckland City win the Oceania Champions League for the third time in a row

The New Zealand team won the trophy for a record 12th time and will take part in the 2025 Club World Cup

New Zealand Auckland City defeated Piru (Tahiti) in the final Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) Champions League – 4:0.

This was the 21st edition of the trophy. Auckland won it for the 12th time, and at the same time re-defended the title, which it won in 2022 and 2023.

The favorite dominated throughout the match. The team from the capital of New Zealand opened the scoring in the 6th minute, doubled it by the end of half an hour, and after the break they scored the final score.

Auckland’s head coach is 40-year-old Spaniard Albert Riera, the namesake of the famous former Liverpool footballer who currently coaches Bordeaux.

The victory allowed New Zealand to qualify for the 2025 Club World Cup, which will be held in June-July next year. 32 clubs (8 groups of 4 teams each) from six confederations will take part in it.

From Europe, 12 clubs will compete at the 2025 FIFA World Cup: Chelsea, Real Madrid, Manchester City, Bayern Munich, PSG, Inter, Porto, Benfica, Borussia Dortmund, Juventus, Atlético Madrid and Salzburg.

  • OFC Champions League. The final

Auckland City (New Zealand) — Pira (Tahiti) — 4:0 (2:0)

Goals: Den Hayer, 6, Gilliam, 30, Ukich, 48, Gray, 59

Source: Sportarena

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.