Jannik Sinner gives Italy its second Davis Cup title in 47 years

The world number four defeated Álex de Miñaur decisively in the second singles match, winning the silver bowl for a country that had not celebrated this competition since 1976.

A historic day was experienced this Sunday in Spain, particularly in the city of Malaga, where Italy won the second Davis Cup crown in its history after defeating the Australian team in the final of the traditional tournament by an aggregate score of 2-0 .

Those responsible for opening the final series were the Australian Alexei Popyrin (40°) and Italian Matteo Arnaldi (44th), a match which was decided in favor of the latter by partial scores of 7-5, 2-6 and 6-4 after two hours and 29 minutes of play.

The Europeans – executioners of Serbia this Saturday – thus took the first step towards obtaining the silver bowl against an oceanic team which left Finland in the semi-final and which, despite the defeat, maintained the hope of winning a new world crown.

Thus took place the stellar duel of the day between the number ones of each casting: Jannik Sinner (4th) from Italy, and Alex de Minaur (12th) on the Australian side.

As expected, the match began with domination by the native of San Candido who achieved a fast break in the third game, an advantage that lasted until the ninth, where another break gave him the set 6-3 in 46 minutes .

In the second round, the match continued with Sinner’s supremacy. stay with him Games of his opponent’s service during the second, fourth and sixth games, thus sealing the match with an emphatic 6-0 in 36 minutes .

With this result, Italy –which once again had the 22-year-old tennis player as its hero – won the series 2-0 and celebrates in a big way again, crowning itself for the second time in its history as the best team in the world .

His previous, and until yesterday only Davis Cup trophy, dated back to 1976, when he beat Chile as a visitor in Santiago. . Additionally, they had six runner-up finishes in the tournament.

For its part, Australia will have to continue to wait to win its 29th title, a crown that has eluded him for 20 years (2003 was his last celebration) .

Follow at El Deportivo

Source: Latercera

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.