127 years of Flamengo: remember Fla’s main achievements on its anniversary

127 years of Flamengo: remember Fla’s main achievements on its anniversary

In recent years, Flamengo has won more than 20 significant titles throughout its history, and on the club’s anniversary, nothing better than extolling these accomplishments.

O Flamengo celebrates its 127th anniversary this Tuesday, November 15th, with a history full of achievements and titles that made fans smile. If we stop to analyze the trajectory of the rubro-negro so far, the team has become one of the teams that has won the most expressive competitions in recent years.

On account of this, the sportbuzz prepared some of the most important titles raised by Flamengo so far. To get an idea, if we count from 2001 to now, only with official tournaments, the team from Rio has more than 20 titles among state, regional, national and international competitions. check out🇧🇷

Libertadores – 2019

The team then commanded by Jorge Jesus again won the Libertadores title. With a revolutionary squad, which innovated in the way of playing, based on the ideas of the Portuguese, Flamengo reached the Libertadores final for the second time, and on that occasion, it was clear that it was the main team in Brazil.

However, even though they had presented a new way of playing in the final against River Plate, the team from Rio won the title the old way. Starting behind the scoreboard, but with five minutes left for the final whistle of the match, Gabigol scored twice, guaranteeing the title to the red-black team in a season that the team also took the Triple Crown.

Flamengo won the 2022 Libertadores (Credit: GettyImages)

Libertadores – 2022

Under the command of Dorival Júnior, Flamengo overcame the bad start to the season to win the third Libertadores championship. This year, Fla had an undisputed and undefeated campaign, and overcame Athletico-PR in the only final played in Ecuador. Gabigol’s star shone once more for him to be decisive and score the winning goal. The team still won the Copa do Brasil in the victorious year.

Brazil Cup – 2006

At the time, Flamengo was experiencing a serious crisis in its football, having escaped relegation for two consecutive years. Due to the perrengues faced by the club, the 2006 Copa do Brasil was a relief for the team, as well as a sign that things could improve.

The title of the national tournament had already escaped twice, in 2003 and 2004, not to mention that in 2006 it was against its biggest rival, Vasco. In this way, this title would have a different flavor, even if it is not the most important of all on the list, but it was essential for the team to rise again and conquer everything it has today.

Carioca Championship – 2001

The first leg had ended 2-1 for Vasco, who needed only a draw, or even could lose by the same result on account of being the owner of the best campaign in the championship.

The very final was dramatic, and Flamengo won 2-1, with goals scored by Edílson for Rubro-Negro, and Juninho Paulista for Vasco. However, in the 43rd minute of the second half, Petkovic arrives with his brilliant kick that guaranteed not only the victory, but the title and the third championship under the rival.

Brazilian Championship – 1992

Even though it had come to the competition with a promising team, Flamengo was not the favorite to lift the 1992 Brasileirão cup. , and in search of the second Brazilian championship.

While Corinthians and Vasco had a more mature squad, Flamengo had Júnior already at the end of his career, and a good number of players coming from the base, but who were champions of the 1990 São Paulo Junior Football Cup.

However, despite what it indicated on paper, this generation was responsible for making Flamengo champion in one of its first titles won with a focus on race rather than totally on talent. Even if it had its merits, the team did not have the best campaign, managing to qualify in the first phase in fourth place.

Already in the final, against Botafogo, the first game was 3 to 0, taking a huge advantage for the return game. Over there, Rubro Negro, even though it opened 2-0, took the draw, even so it ended up being the Brazilian champion.

World Cup – 1981

At that time, since Santos, in 1963, Brazil had not had a world champion, however, this story changed the course of the competition in 1981. With a more mature generation already in place, the conquest was a kind of coronation to one of the most victorious seasons of the history of Flamengo.

After being champion of the 1980 Brasileirão, the team traveled in 1981 also carrying the title of champion of Libertadores, Carioca and Club World Cup, thus making the first Triple Crown in its history.

With the goals scored by Adilio, and two by Nunes, Flamengo beat Liverpool and became world champion in what is still one of the greatest achievements in the history of Rubro Negro.

Source: sportbuzz

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.