Manchester City crushes Fluminense to become world club champions

Manchester City crushes Fluminense to become world club champions

The Citizens won the 2023 edition of the competition, in Saudi Arabia. They comfortably beat the Monarch Libertadores 4-0, thanks to a brace from Julián Álvarez, who replaced the absent Erling Haaland.

The FIFA Club World Cup has an unprecedented champion. It is Manchester City . In Saudi Arabia, the English team became the new champions of the competition, during the last edition with its current format. By 2025, the film will debut with a renewed face in the United States, with 32 casts. This Friday, the Ciudadanos comfortably beat Fluminense 4-0.

Both teams had no major problems in the semi-finals and qualified for the deciding duel. While City beat Japan’s Urawa Reds, Cariocas beat Egypt’s Al Ahly. It was the logical final, the expected face-to-face between the winner of the Champions League and the monarch of the Copa Libertadores. Of course, one star name was not present on the field: Erling Haaland. In the same way, Pep Guardiola did not need the Norwegian to keep the scepter.

In the absence of the former Borussia Dortmund man, Julien Alvarez He took the center forward position and delivered from the start of the match. The Argentinian took 40 seconds to open the scoring, grabbing a rebound after a Nathan Aké shot hit a post. The Spider defined nothing less than with his chest, in front of an exposed goal.

During the first part of the match, Flu’s risky position, which consisted of playing low in his area, trying not to give the ball away, despite the strong pressure from the rival, was surprising. In the 27th minute, the score was 2-0 for the British, thanks to an own goal from Nino, who deflected a low cross from Phil Foden. The statistics were even in the first 45 minutes, with no marked domination, but Manchester City struck at the right moments and did not suffer to manage the advantage.

In the second part, Guardiola’s team found the 3-0 in the 72nd minute with the appearance of Foden, attacking through the center after a low cross from Julián Álvarez. If the match seemed doomed to failure at 2-0, after the third goal, it was over. But something else was missing. In the 88th minute, Álvarez showed up again for the 4-0 final. End of the match and one more cup for City from the Catalan coach.

2021 was the last time an England team won the Club World Cup. In this edition, it was Chelsea who beat Palmeiras in the definition.

Once again, Conmebol loses the opportunity to once again have the “best in the world” among its team, beyond the favoritism that City had for this confrontation. Since 2012, no South American team has been world champion. It was Corinthians who beat Chelsea 1-0.

Follow on Sporty

Source: Latercera

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.