Wembley awaits: Germany and England will play the final of the Women’s European Championship

Wembley awaits: Germany and England will play the final of the Women’s European Championship

The German national team, winners of the continental competition (eight times), qualified after beating France 2-1 on Wednesday. He will face the host team, who are aiming to win the European title for the first time.

Women’s Euro 2022 You already have your finalists. England, hosts of the event, will face Germany next Sunday at Wembley Stadium, the perfect setting to wrap up a tournament that broke attendance records in a European women’s tournament.

This Wednesday, the German team beat France 2-1 in Milton Keynes, and he has the possibility of extending the hegemony he has imposed on the continental level. Of the previous 12 finals, the Germans have played in eight and have always won. At the weekend they will have the ninth.

The number of the day was Alexandra Popp, author of the two goals for qualifying for the final. In less than 40 minutes, he opened the account. This goal was Germany’s 100th in European Championship history, being the first team to reach one hundred goals. But the initial advantage was short-lived, as at minute 44 the French equalized, with an own goal from Merle Frohms. In the second period, a new appearance by Popp allowed the 2-1, in the 76th minute, meaning the victory and the assist to the definition for the title.

Germany won the European Women’s Championship in 1989, 1991, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2005, 2009 and 2013. They are by far at the top of the general classification. In second place, Norway appears recently with two cups: 1987 and 1993. With a trophy, Sweden, in 1984, and the Netherlands, in 2017.

On Tuesday, the English qualified, candidates for the crown for their good performances and for being local. At Bramall Lane, Sheffield, they beat Sweden 4-0 with goals from Bethany Mead (34′), Lucy Bronze (48′), Alessia Russo (68′) and Francesca Kirby (76′). The British team, led by the Dutch Sarina Wiegman, aims to win its first European championship. England have only two runners-up to date, in 1984 and 2009.

The decisive duel will take place this Sunday, at the Football Cathedral, at 12:00 p.m. in Chile. The champions will also reach the Finalissima against the winners of the Copa América 2022 (Brazil or Colombia, who face each other this Saturday), reproducing what happened at the men’s level with Italy and Argentina , a crossing that Lionel Scaloni’s Albiceleste won, precisely in London.

follow on Jock

Source: Latercera

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.