Austria named its expanded bid for Euro 2024

Austria named its expanded bid for Euro 2024

Injured Alaba will go to Germany as ‘non-playing captain’

Head coach Austrian national team Ralf Rangnick announced an expanded application of 29 people (not counting the reserve list) for the upcoming European Championship 2024.

There are two absolute debutants on the list – goalkeeper Tobias Laval from LASK and midfielder Thierno Ballo from Wolfsberg. At the same time, the injured David Alaba, Xaver and Alexander Schlager, and Sasha Kalajdzic are absent from the lineup.

Regarding Alaba, Rangnick separately emphasized that he will go with the team to the European Championships as a “non-playing captain,” which has already been agreed upon with the player’s club, Real Madrid.

  • Austrian team. Extended squad ahead of Euro 2024

Goalkeepers: Niklas Hedl (Rapid B), Tobias Laval (LASK), Heinz Lindner (Union Saint-Gilloise, Belgium), Patrick Pentz (Brøndby, Denmark).

Defenders: Flavius ​​Danyluk (RB Salzburg), Kevin Danso (Lens, France), Stefan Lainer (Borussia M, Germany), Philipp Lienhart (Freiburg, Germany), Philipp Mwene (Mainz, Germany), Stefan Posch (Bologna, Italy), Leopold Kerfeld (Rapid B), Gernot Trauner (Feyenoord, Netherlands), Maximilian Weber (Borussia M, Germany).

Midfielders: Thierno Ballo (Wolfsberg), Christoph Baumgartner (RB Leipzig, Germany), Florian Grillitsch (Hoffenheim, Germany), Marco Grüll (Rapid), Florian Kainz (Cologne, Germany), Konrad Leimer (Bayern, Germany), Alexander Prass (Sturm) , Marcel Sabitzer (Borussia Dortmund, Germany), Romano Schmid (Werder Bremen, Germany), Matthias Seidl (Rapid B), Nicholas Seivald (RB Leipzig, Germany), Patrick Wimmer (Wolfsburg, Germany).

Forwards: Marko Arnautovic (Inter, Italy), Maximilian Entrup (Hartberg), Michael Gregorich (Freiburg, Germany), Andreas Weimann (West Bromwich Albion, England).

Reserve: Daniel Bachmann (Watford, England), Cican Stankovic (AEK, Greece), Samson Baidu (RB Salzburg), Marco Friedl (Werder Bremen, Germany), Muhammad Cham (Clermont, France), Christoph Lang (Rapid B), Dejan Ljubicic (Cologne , Germany), Manpreet Sarkaria (Sturm), Kevin Steger (Bochum, Germany), Junior Adamu (Freiburg, Germany), Guido Burgstaller (Rapid B), Benedikt Pichler (Holstein, Germany).

The Austrian national team will begin preparations for the European Championship on May 29. Then she will hold two sparring matches in the first ten days of June – at home against Serbia and away against Switzerland. At the Euro itself, within Group D, the Austrians will compete with France (June 17), Poland and the Netherlands.

The European Championship will begin on June 14 with the match Germany – Scotland, and will end exactly a month later.

Source: Sportarena

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.