Facundo Isa, in the run-up to third place: “In 2015 we didn’t give him…”

The third line of Los Pumas, in that sense, remembered the defeat against Sudáfica and assured that this time “we will go for the game”.

The third line of Los Pumas Facundo Isaone of the survivors of Argentina’s bronze final loss to South Africa at the 2015 World Cup, admitted on Thursday that they had underestimated that match, and assured that tomorrow against England they will go into it with a different attitude. “I was in 2015 and I remember that game. I don’t think we gave it much importance. “It was the second time Argentina reached the semifinals and played for third place, we didn’t give it that much importance.”, he pointed out.

“Now, with a different head, with coaches pushing us to do it, leaving what happened in the semifinals, we will go for the game”he added.

Isa pointed out that in 2015 Argentina was playing for world bronze for the second time and then they did it after losing against Australia in a great match: “We fell, we hit ourselves mentally, the team was not ready to face that last game”. “We are a new team and with some more experienced players coming through that situation, the team is ready to fight for the last game.he assured.

He admitted there were things to improve against New Zealand in the semifinals, but he considered it important to win third place “to change the mentality of not being world champion or even second”.

“We want to be on the podium and have a medal for third place”, he said. His second line teammate Pedro Rubiolo indicated that the rivalry against England is also “rematch of the first match”when Los Pumas fell. “It’s not the same to finish third as it is to finish fourth. It’s a great opportunity so you have to put a lot of desire, a lot of energy, and close the World Cup in the best way”he said.

Two of Los Pumas are among the nominees for the World Rugby of the Year Awards

This Sunday, a day after the World Cup final between the All Blacks and South Africa, World Rugby will present its prestigious annual awards, the World Rugby Awards 2023, and for that this Thursday it announced the list of finalist players . The gala was at the Opera Garnier in Paris and there were two Argentines present.

Among the nominees will be the representation of Argentina. Two players from Los Pumas 7’s, one who is also part of the World Cup squad in France, Rodrigo Isgró; the other is Marcos Moneta. Both are contestants in the Best Sevens Player of the Year category where they are competing with New Zealanders Leroy Carter and Akuila Rokolisoa.

The shortlists are selected by panels made up of prominent influencers and fans can also vote online to determine the winner of the Try of the Year category. The awards can be seen live and free on RugbyPass TV.

Photo: Craig Mercer/MB Media/Getty Images

Source: EFE

Source: Tycsports

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.