Two of Los Pumas are among the nominees for the World Rugby of the Year Awards

This Sunday in Paris, the season’s distinctions will be awarded to the best players and two Argentines are on the list of possible winners.

This Sunday, one day after the World Cup final to be played by All Blacks and South AfricaWorld Rugby will present the prestigious annual awards, World Rugby Awards 2023, and for that on Thursday he announced the list of finalist players. The gala was at the Opera Garnier in Paris and there will be two Argentines present.

A night full of sports stars is expected where eleven winners in the categories will be honoured. The brand new world champion team will be part of the ceremony along with a long guest list that includes historical players and special guests from society.

Among the nominees will be the representation of Argentina. Two players from Los Pumas 7’s, one who is also part of the World Cup squad in France, Rodrigo Isgro; others are Marcos Moneta. Both participate in the field Best player of the seven years where they compete with New Zealanders Leroy Carter and Akuila Rokolisoa.

The shortlists are selected by panels made up of prominent influencers and fans can also vote online to determine the winner of the Try of the Year category. The awards can be seen live and free on RugbyPass TV.

All other World Rugby Awards 2023 nominees

XV player of the year

  • Bundee Aki (Ireland)
  • Antoine Dupont (France)
  • Eben Etzebeth (South Africa)
  • Ardie Savea (All Blacks)

XV rookie player

  • Louis Bielle-Biarrey (France)
  • Manie Libbok (South Africa)
  • Mark Telea (All Blacks)
  • Tamaiti Williams (All Blacks)

Coach of the year

  • Andy Farrell (Ireland)
  • Ian Foster (All Blacks)
  • Simon Raiwalui (Fiji)
  • Jacques Nienaber (South Africa)

Male Try of the Year

  • Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland, vs. England on February 4)
  • Damian Penaud (France, vs. Ireland on February 11)
  • Hugo Keenan (Ireland, vs. France on February 11)
  • Vinaya Habosi (Fiji, vs. Georgia on October 1)

Sevens player of the year

  • Michaela Blyde (New Zealand)
  • Maddison Levi (Australia)
  • Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand)
  • Reapi Ulunisau (Fiji)

It should be noted that the team of the year is undoubtedly the one that will end up being crowned in the final.

Source: Tycsports

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.