The Pumas 7 debuted with a victory over Spain at the Los Angeles Sevens

Those led by Gómez Cora won 28-21 in Group A of the fifth stage of the SVNS circuit.

The Pumas 7s This morning they made a successful debut with a victory against Spain by 28 to 21 in a match valid for Group A of the fifth stage of the circuit SVNS takes place in Los AngelesUnited States, and organized by World Rugby.

The Argentines, who ended the first half tied 14-14, won against Spain thanks to two tries from Marcos Monetaanother one of Tobias Wade and another one at Joaquín Pellandiniincluding Wade conversions (2) and Santiago Vera Feld (2). Although the debut in the tournament was successfully drawn, the team was led by Santiago Gomez Cora He did not show his characteristic freshness and lacked surprise in the face of good defensive pressure from Spain.

Pumas 7 will play again in the two remaining matches in Group A during the day, against South Africa at 3:36 pm and against Ireland from 8:06 pm

Before Argentina’s performance against Spain, Ireland beat South Africa in a resounding 17-0.

The team led by Gómez Cora was formed with Germán Schultz, Santiago Álvarez Fourcade (captain), Luciano González, Joaquín Pellandini, Tobías Wade, Matías Osadczuk and Marcos Moneta. Then came Rodrigo Isgró, Gastón Revol, Agustín Fraga, Matteo Graziano and Santiago Vera Feld.

The final of the competition will take place this Sunday and the Argentines are always candidates, especially after becoming champions last Sunday on Canadian soil, by defeating New Zealand by definition, 36-12.

In Vancouver, Los Pumas 7s have already achieved two titles: in 2022 by defeating the Fiji Islands (29-10) and in 2023 by prevailing over France (33-21).

The Argentine team won the Perth tournament this season, last January, by defeating local Australia in the final, 31-5, and also won the gold medal at the Cape Town Sevens, for the second stage, defeating they the Australians 45-12.

The Pumas lead 7 positions in the official World Rugby rankings with 76 points, followed by Ireland and Fiji Islands, with 54; New Zealand, 50; and Australia, 47.

Throughout history, Argentine teams have won 9 titles, 16 times they have been classified as runners-up and 21 times they have climbed to the third step of the podium.

Source: Tycsports

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.